10 Things To Know About The Belmont Stakes

The conclusion of the Triple Crown is fast approaching, but how much do you really know about the Belmont Stakes? Check out our 10 fast facts before the horses take the track for the 151st running of the Belmont Stakes.

1) It is the OLDEST TRIPLE CROWN RACE and was first held Thursday, June 19, 1867.  

The Preakness Stakes began in 1873 followed by the Kentucky Derby in 1875.

2) It has BEEN AROUND LONGER than the Statue of Liberty, Brooklyn Bridge, and Empire State Building.

3) The first Belmont Stakes was won by a filly named RUTHLESS.

Her owner, Francis Morris, won $1,850 and a saddle.

4) Only 13 horses have won the Triple Crown. 

American Pharoah ended a 37-year winning drought in 2015.

5) The race is nicknamed THE RUN FOR THE CARNATIONS because the winning horse is draped with a blanket of white carnations.

700 carnations are used to make the blanket.

6) SIR BARTON was the first horse to achieve the elusive Triple Crown in 1919.

It wasn’t until 1930 when Gallant Fox became the second horse to win all three races that the term Triple Crown became commonplace.

7) The Belmont Stakes is named after its founder, AUGUST BELMONT. He was a financier, diplomat, sportsman, horse breeder, and racehorse owner.

8) Throughout its history, the Belmont Stakes has run at VARIOUS DISTANCES AND TRACKS.

Belmont Park has hosted the race since 1905, and the race has been 1.5 miles in length since 1926. 

9) It is often referred to as the “TEST OF THE CHAMPION” due to the demanding length of the race.

10) The Belmont Stakes typically has the SMALLEST POOL OF COMPETITORS of the three Triple Crown races.

The Belmont Stakes begin at approximately 5:46pm at Belmont Park in New York on June 8. Watch and wager with us on Level 4. 

<< Back to Listing